Here’s my performance bio (at least, what I can remember)

I started playing in high school, taking lessons from a local Montana teacher, Dr. Ralph Campbell, and participating in clinics at the University of Montana.  I was the lead drummer in the Polson High School Stage Band, playing swing and jazz, soloing and performing with the highest honors in statewide competitions.  After high school, and some music education at the U of M, I helped form the progressive rock band Papa Tuba, which covered artists from the Grateful Dead to Yes, Frank Zappa to Led Zeppelin, as well as many original tunes.  Papa Tuba performed over a three state area, as well as outdoor festivals with over a thousand attendees (not a bad accomplishment for a drummer not yet 21 years old).

I left Papa Tuba  to move to Oregon, where I played for a groundbreaking church — Life Church, of Salem Oregon — playing an early incarnation of in what would become the current wave of church praise and worship music (my music director and senior pastor, Mike Herron, is currently an artist and worldwide representative  for Integrity Music).  I also helped form the Salem, Oregon band No Lies,  which covered the mainstream of what was current CCM, as well as many original numbers.  No Lies  performed in both Oregon and Washington in many church and non-church venues (again, serving as a forerunner in crossing over from the “sacred” to the “secular.”)

After 15 years helping lead instrumental worship in Oregon, I moved back to Western Montana, where he started a retail music business and music school, and formed a band with some of my musically accomplished children, called the Noisy Boys.  Also in western Montana I joined the blues band The Ruminators, featuring Doug Ruhman on guitar.

In 2003 I moved to my current home in West Palm Beach, Florida, where I played with the tribute act Simply Shania  (www.simplyshania.com), and continue to play for multiple churches and music conferences from the Miami metro area in Florida to the Treasure Coast.   Gear

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

music reviews from sententia's dede booth

Just another WordPress.com site

Progarchy

Pointing toward Proghalla

Musically Diversified

Where all Music is treated equally.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

